Beads

Standard

I confess to being a bead addict.

No, I don’t mean collecting beads in an album or something. I mean beading, as in, like, making jewelery, or sewing beads onto a piece of cloth in some randomly awesome pattern, or just stringing them onto a piece of thread and tying them around something.

I started this hobby – I dunno, a year or so ago? – when I wanted to make a bracelet for one of my friends and found that, despite my inability to remain still for more than a minute, I loved it. Even with my infamous impatience I found that I enjoyed the process.

And that’s how I started getting wrapped up in the tedious process of creating bracelets, earrings and necklaces (not to mention a few miserably failed rings) with thin elastic bands or sometimes flimsy wires. When I can’t get pretty (and pricey) beads from a bead store, I just cut them off of an old piece of jewelery that I have that is gathering dust since who knows when and that I will probably never wear again.

If worse comes to worst, I just pick up one of those super cheap beading sets for kids. Trust me, they don’t look anything like toddler’s beads once they’re on a pretty bracelet! 😀

9 responses »

  1. Thanks so much for visiting my ‘Careann’s Musings’ blog today via Freshly Pressed. I love meeting new people here in cyberspace. As a writer I keep my blog’s focus mostly on writing, but I post on other topics, too. I’ve enjoyed having a peek at your blog. Your beading hobby probably provides lots of new pieces to replace the ones you dissembled for materials. The only beading I’ve done is around Christmas when I’ve decorated tree ornaments. Our granddaughters love it, though, and make necklaces and bracelets in abundance.

    • No problem, and nice to meet you! Yes, it does, and I never throw away old jewelery or ornaments anymore. I’ve never learned to decorate things with beads properly… Hmm… I think I’ll try again soon! Thank you for reading! 🙂

  2. Hey! Another teenage writer! 😀 Nice to meet you!

    Those beads look awesome. I liked beading, too. Actually what I did was buy tons of strings of glass beads like the ones depicted there, and I make bracelets to give to friends. I’m in Peru so I don’t have any beads right now, but this blog post makes me want to start again 🙂

  3. You are so awesome to have that gift of beading. My 17 year old can do it and I guess she has the patience, I don’t. I can read books but she is learning. I love the colors of beads. I actually collect stones and don’t do anything with them. I should look into beads. How cool.

    • Haha, thank you! I love the colours of beads too, especially when they’re all clumped together. They look like a great sea of colours. 😀 Hope you do get started on beading. Thanks for reading! 🙂

  4. This is a good book for beginning beaders. There are sections on stringing beads, using wire, weaving and weaving with a loom. The projects are extremely simple. The instructions are clear with easy to follow diagrams. Taylor gives good descriptions of the tools you will need and how to use them.

    It has many nice pictures. There are color photos covering all or part of almost every page. Often the jewelry in the pictures is printed actual size in the photographs. They are well done and integrated well.

    This describes the basic processes and does so clearly. If you are new to beading and want to move on to more advanced techniques then this is a good book for you. I don’t think it will be helpful for experienced beaders. (I had done a large amount of wire work before reading this, and didn’t find any of the sections helpful as I had already been exposed to the techniques.)

Leave a Reply

