Old Music vs New Music

Standard

2.bp.blogspot.com

If you haven’t already noticed, I am completely, profoundly and immensely addicted to music. I’m so immersed in the world of singing and dancing and pianos and guitars that I don’t think I’ll ever get out of it.

And how do I conquer this addiction?

Simple. I don’t.

I grew up listening to the radio to fall asleep, belting out old-fashioned songs that I learned from my father, and completely oblivious to “modern” songs. Plus, I learned them all completely off-key! It wasn’t until I was older that I discovered that not all songs sounded fresh out of the 80’s and that I had learned all songs from a tone-deaf person!

Since then, though, I’ve fallen completely in love with music. I sang day and night (annoying many as I went), everything from the Bee Gees to Katy Perry; and anything from David Gates to Linkin Park. I took up piano and guitar and performed where I could.

Lately, I’ve come across more old songs and I find that they are far more beautiful than the disposable, overrated ones we hear, blasting on the radio, today. They were sung by performers who actually could sing, all with wonderful voices. Unlike today, where half, if not most, of the singers sing with their voices autotuned and overproduced, singing the same note for most of the song, and even more often, the same phrase.

But that hasn’t stopped me singing “Like a G6, like a G6, n-now-now-now I’m feeling so fly like a G6” non-stop at thetop of my voice!

4.bp.blogspot.com

Coz unfortunately, when one is addicted to music, any kind of music is awesome.

The title is really inappropriate… I think I should change it to “Why I Love New Music Even If Old Music Is Awesome”.

Oh well, lazy…

Gonna go sing annoyingly repetitive and monotonous songs now! Bye…

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

