Bug Adventures

Standard

So there I was, minding my own business in my room, when some annoying insect decided to take a break on my shoulder. I barely noticed it… Until it left me with a little red bump of irritated skin. I constantly attract the attention of bugs everywhere I go, so I thought nothing of it.

That evening, I ended up with three more bumps from insect bites and got mildly annoyed. I tried to look for the meddling creature but failed and had to be content with wearing a long-sleeved shirt (during the dry season!) all night to prevent more bites.

This scenario continued all week so I began a tireless pursuit of the single tiny creature that haunted me each time I set foot in my room. My efforts bore no fruit as I became increasingly frustrated with the insect that perpetually raised exasperating red bumps on my skin that I scratched in my sleep, causing ugly little things all over my arms.

Two days ago, I was trying to ignore the new bite forming over my skin, I caught a glimpse of the bug that had been incessantly, well, bugging me since forever (exaggeration?). I got up and stalked over to where it was on the wall. I smacked my hand into the hard brown-painted cement (ouch). Ignoring the smarting in my hand, I checked if I had finally caught the thing.

No! It had just whizzed around my head tauntingly and flown off!

For a quarter-hour I chased after that annoying insect. I leaped and jumped; I grabbed and grasped; I stumbled and tripped. After 15 short minutes I gave up. That thing would elude me forever.

In my exhaustion I leaned against the wall. After a few seconds I got off to resume my homework and noticed a black stain on my left sleeve and a matching one on the wall.

I went nuts. After a whole week and 15 annoying minutes of chasing, it had come to this? In the end it took no effort. And I ended up with a stain on my favourite orange shirt. And I had to clean the stubborn goop of the wall.

And of course, I accidentally squashed the insect.

Leave a Reply

