Ohana = Family = No One Gets Left Behind

Standard

Some years ago, when I was six, Disney released its 42nd animated film, Lilo and Stitch. Being an innocent (and clueless) little kid in kindergarten at the time, I loved repeating “Ohana means family, and family means no one gets left behind” as quoted by Lilo repeatedly during the whole movie.

t3.gstatic.com

I loved the movie, yes, but I didn’t fully understand it until many years later. And only in the past couple of years have I actually fully appreciated Lilo’s most commonly quoted phrase.

If home is where the heart is, then my home is with family. I wasn’t close to my family until I turned a teen (unusual, huh?), during the time when most kids turned away from their parents.

I have not seen some members of my family for nearly two years, and that’s far too long for me. It isn’t enough to email them monthly about school, or sms about the latest achievement, or call when I’m down, or chat when I have a cool story to tell. It isn’t enough. I want to see them. I miss them.

Hopefully this year. Yes, this year.

Now, time to snap out of emo mode and compose a monthly email to my aunt…

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

