The End of Another Eventful School Year

Standard

thinkwritenow.wordpress.com

Wow! Look at that, it’s the end of my Form 2 school year already! The last day of school was pretty darn eventful and memorable… Not to mention incredibly busy and crazy… I think… Well, to quote Daughtry’s song “September”:

The years go by and time just seems to fly, but the memories remain.

Bored out of my skull this morning, I took some time to reflect on the year. Did I do everything I planned to do? Well, let’s see. I didn’t join the public speaking contest, I didn’t get a place in the chess tournament, I didn’t get top three in class and I didn’t get distinction in my piano exam. So I guess it was a bad year.

On the other hand, I did meet some awesome new people, get halfway through my book, learn some valuable lessons, lighten up and move on. So on the whole it was a pretty good year.

Just listen to me, I sound like a bundle of contradictions!

It all depends on how you look at things… I could tell you the things I regret doing, things I regret not doing, or things that just didn’t go as planned. Or I could choose to tell you the things that worked out, the accomplishments I made, whether big or small, and short, amusing, heartwarming stories.

In the end, it’s all about how optimistic you are. Hey, remember, I said optimistic, not perky. Be a positive realist or something. Which sounds right to you – “glass half-full”, or “glass half-empty”? 

School this year was fun and full of surprises, and I’m sure we can all agree with that. I’m definitely gonna miss all my friends and seeing as I’m not going anywhere, it could get a little boring. But I don’t have any more work to do, and I’d much rather become a royal bum than toil around doing homework, projects and revision.

Once more, it’s all about how you look at things. 😉

Leave a Reply

